“Walk in obedience to all that the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live and prosper and prolong your days in the land that you will possess.”

– Deuteronomy 5:33

Beautiful verse.

Another verse that is very similar to this one is Jeremiah 7:23 –

 “..but I gave them this command: Obey me, and I will be your God and you will be my people. Walk in obedience to all I command you, that it may go well with you.”

The Bible speaks a lot about obedience and discipline. It is definitely not easy to walk on the right path in this world, for there are so many things all around telling us otherwise. Everywhere we will go, we will face all kinds of temptations, all kinds of struggles. What to do to stand firm in Faith, to keep our paths straight in the Lord?
Well, there is only one answer to that, and it is to HANG ON TO GOD’S WORD.  

There is no other answer. If we want to fight the enemy, if we want to live a godly life, it is time for us to discipline ourselves in the Word. It is time for us to start reading and meditating on God’s Holy Scriptures every day. Yes, every day, because every day brings with itself new temptations, new trials, new struggles, new tests of faith. No day is the same. Every day reveals new things, we learn new things, we meet new people, we visit different places, etc. The only thing that never changes is that every day we sin. We will never be able to become sinless, but that doesn’t mean we can’t sin less, right?

Check out this verse: Luke 9:23 –

Then He (Jesus) said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.”

It says, “Take up his cross DAILY“. This just shows you it is, indeed, an ongoing struggle. It is a lifestyle.

Ever since we were born, we were taught obedience by our parents. Thank God we have had parents who guided us in the right path our entire lives. There are many children being raised in the streets, growing up by themselves, with no one to guide them, no one to speak to them about God. Let’s appreciate our parents today.
And above all, let’s appreciate our Holy FATHER, for He is the ruler and creator of all. Let’s try to be obedient to His Word and let’s try always to live in the Spirit, trying always to please Him and Him alone. Forget about pleasing the world! It’s either the world or  God…. now who do you choose? I hope you choose God as well. 🙂

Matthew 6:24 –

“No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.” 

If you ever feel like this is too much for you, send me a message. I used to feel the same way 5-6 months ago.
If my life could change and become so beautiful, yours can, too. We just gotta keep trusting. Keep believing.

God bless you.

In Christ,

Vanessa I. Faraj

3 thoughts on ““Walk in obedience to all that the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live and prosper and prolong your days in the land that you will possess.”

  1. I think sometimes more dangerous than the temptations, which can be fought off simply because they are obvious sins and more easily recognizable, are just everyday distractions; conversations with friends about nothing, work, school, chores, errands, sitting around at home with the tv or video games on, just going out and having fun while none in themselves is wrong are all huge distractions from the One we are supposed to be paying attention to making it more difficult to walk in God’s light if you’re not careful.

    • I agree, Dave! We become so easily distracted, and it makes us forget about Him. It’s funny how I never really thought about it before, but now, every time I’m out watching a movie, eating, hanging out with friends, I feel a bit disappointed that I’m not investing that time with the Lord. I think, “Is watching this movie better than spending time with the Lord? How about all of the people starving in the streets right now and I’m here enjoying a movie, eating popcorn, and just hanging? Is this really the way a Christian life should be lived?” Yess.. these are all questions that pop into my mind a lot lately. I never really thought about those as being distractions, because as long as I wasn’t doing “bad” things, I wasn’t sinning, I wasn’t a “bad” person. Truth is, we’re all bad. But by God’s Grace we become justified. I am so in love with the Lord.
      Thanks for sharing, Davey. God bless you and see you in less than 35 days, God-willing.

  2. Dear vanessa I’m so glad you are in texas now I just wish I could find you so I don’t waste my money and gas coming down to austin lol love david

Leave a Reply

