“Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom..”

– Psalm 90:12 NLT

A friend posted this as his status on FB a couple of days ago. I had read it before but it never struck me like it did yesterday. So I thank God for him.

Life is short, it is. Sometimes we take our days for granted. We assume there will be so many more to come. We sometimes get so wrapped up in things of the world that we forget to remember that our life can end in one blink of an eye. We forget to remember that God is and always will be the only reason why we’re still here, why we still live. We forget our Creator and succumb to the earthly desires instead. Why is it so hard for us humans to understand that we are worthless, and the only way to become worthy is by accepting God’s Grace in our lives, by living in the Spirit. God makes us worthy. Everything good that we are and everything good that we’re able to do is thanks to Him who has loved us.

To be honest, I sometimes forget as well. This past week I haven’t done much Bible reading, maybe a verse a day, and that’s it. I have felt a bit of a void. I have been so busy lately, that I have been forgetting to praise my God for everything. Too busy for God????????????????????????????????????????????? Ugh. Makes me sick just thinking about it. Last night it hit me… Why am I not spending as much time as I’d like to with the Lord? Sigh…….. The only thing I could think of was that I haven’t been spending much time at home lately. And when I do come home, I go to sleep. Yes, I pray before I sleep, but that’s never enough.

Dear God, please interrupt my days with Your presence, fill my life again. I love You so much, but I feel as if I am drifting away, I want to draw closer to You. Please help me God… In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

As Danny wrote, “My only desire is to stand firm in the faith, at all costs. Nothing else matters in this world — as we are here for only a flash of a second, considering eternity’s everlasting time frame. If we are to follow Jesus, it will require great sacrifice and commitment — The Journey isn’t an easy one, but the reward is indescribable.” SO TRUE.

Today, I don’t want to lean on my own feelings, on my own understanding. I want to lean on His Word and on His plan for me, His will. Which reminds me of Proverbs 3:5-6 –

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”

And no matter how many times we forget about God, He never forgets about us. He loves us. Lord, thank You for always reminding us that we are loved. ❤

This song kinda describes my struggles lately- “If I had two hands doing the same thing, lifted high…” It talks about the Christian struggle… about wanting to praise the Lord always but feeling pulled over to the opposite direction by things of the world.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I749u84cFDI&feature=mr_meh&list=PL0FC8AE922C787D9A&index=21&playnext=0

And also listen to this one. It’s so beautiful. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IR156yJZFUY&feature=slpl

Thanks for reading… I pray God blesses each of you richly. I pray we all get to know God truly, out of pure genuineness and love.

Be blessed.

2 thoughts on ““Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom..”

Leave a Reply

