Give me words to speak..

Give me words to speak by Aaron Shust

“Calloused and bruised
dazed and confused
My Spirit is left wanting something more 
Than my selfish hopes
and my selfish dreams 
I’m lying with my face down on the floor
I’m crying out for more

Give me Words to speak 
Don’t let my Spirit sleep 
Cause I can’t think of anything worth saying
But I know that I owe You my life 
So give me Words to speak
Don’t let my Spirit sleep

Every night, every day
I find that I have nothing I can say
So I stand here in silence awaiting Your guidance
I’m wanting only Your voice to be heard 
Let them be Your Words
Let them be Your words.”

I love this song. The lyrics show complete surrender to God. Makes me reevaluate all my ways, all my words. How often do I use my words to encourage others? How can I inspire people with my words? What can I say to glorify God? How can I serve others with my words? How can I comfort others with my words? Well, I believe the answer is Jesus. If we surrender to His Grace, we are able to let Him in, and we are letting God use us. When God uses us, He gives us the perfect words to say at the perfect moment. I’ve had to remind myself many times to listen to God. Sometimes we go on and on about the things that we want, we pray and pray, but we never really sink into PRAYER. Prayer is a relationship. Prayer is made up of both speaking and listening. How can we listen to God? Kneel in silence. When we are humble enough to kneel and just listen to Him, He answers. He will give us His guidance. He will give us the words. He will help us get through anything that comes our way.

So since our words are very important and can either create or destroy, lift up or bring down, we need to be very careful about what we say. Let’s ask God to give us His words. That way we’ll only be able to speak Love. 🙂

Matthew 12:36 “But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken.”

Isaiah 6:8 “Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

This last verse really touched me. How many of us when we were in school or at work, were flattered when the teacher or the boss asked us to do something very important? I remember that whenever the teacher would make me responsible for a very important task, like for example, being in charge of the class good-bye party, or in charge of helping the teacher with a very difficult assignment, I always felt  happy to be “used” by the teacher for something so crucial.

This brings me to my next point.  What happens when God asks us to do something? What happens when God wants to use us? WOW, right? GOD using us? The maker of all things, the creator and the Lord of everything, the King of kings, our Amazing, Loving Father, our Savior, using US, humans (sinners). Well that just completely bewilders me! Why would He want to use us? Oh but HE DOES. He chooses us to carry out very important tasks– Much more important and amazing than anything else. How much more honored should we feel when God wants to use us?? Well, He sure has been using me lately, and I am absolutely amazed at His awesomeness, at His love, at His Grace. I am so blessed, honored, and thankful.

So when God wants to use us, we should be so eager to be used by Him! Just like in that verse, we should want to say, “HERE I AM. SEND ME!!

Sometimes we’re afraid because we can’t see further, we can’t see the bigger picture. But it’s all about trusting Him. He will guide us and we’ll follow obediently. God does see the bigger picture, God can see everything, so we should let go of all the chains that have been choking us, we should surrender all, and just follow. God loves us. As long as we’re in His hands, we are safe.

So, today, don’t be afraid of the unknown, of getting out of your comfort zone. Know that comfort is not always right. Most of the time, the hardest things are the right things.  Let’s trust Him.

Let’s try and say this today and every day: LORD, You lead, and I’ll follow!

🙂 Bless you all!

2 thoughts on “Give me words to speak..

Leave a Reply

